Weeks 1 & 2 of Knighthood at CCHS

After being at the same school for 9 years, the thought of leaving and starting over somewhere else scared me to death. Being the new kid on the block is never fun, especially when you have 70+ new colleagues’ names to learn and over 1000 students to get to know.

It’s been a VERY fast 2 weeks with giving out Chromebooks and servicing tons of classes. But, I have to say, being a knight has been nothing but rewarding. I love my new home; actually, I love it to death. Everyone in Currituck has been warm and welcoming. They’re happy to have me, and they’ve been sure to let me know this. This has really made being the new kid less awkward. And I have to mention that I have an AMAZING assistant who has helped me keep my head above water the past 3 weeks.

Taking over this library has been an awesome experience so far! I have inherited a great collection full of awesome non-fiction and fiction titles and tons of graphic novels, comics, and Manga. I have a corporate Amazon account, so I can order what we need and get it when we need it! Oh and CCHS is a 1:1 Chromebook school, so getting technology into students’ and teachers’ hands is not as much of a struggle as it has been for me in the past. The school itself is totally student centered; always keeping their best interests in mind. I also love that at CCHS, students are treated as the young adults that they are. They are given freedom and responsibility and are expected to act accordingly. They are given the chance to make choices, instead of having to earn that chance.

My goals for the school year have changed drastically with my move to CCHS. Of course I am still working on helping teachers and students integrate technology into learning, spreading the gospel of digital citizenship, and helping students discover their passion for reading; but with more access to resources, more freedom in my daily schedule, and an administration that loves giving students choice and thinking outside of the box, I have big hopes and plans for my programming this year! My colleague and I have already started excitedly discussing ideas we have for things to get students and staff participating in the library. From makerspace areas to pedicures to food tastings to apps and tools slams, we are ready to get the 2014-2015 school year going!

My ultimate goal this year is to create a participatory culture in the library, one that will get teachers and students into the space, without the allure of a computer lab or laptop carts…because at the end of the day, the space is just space if no one is using it!

 

Leave a Reply

