You Control the Image of Your School

Last night, as I watched the Ed Tech Geek Cast, I couldn’t get this quote out of my head. The thought that my words and actions control the image of the school really stuck with me.

I am a huge advocate of social media and its power to connect me to people, tools, and resources. I love Twitter and Instagram and I pin like my life depends on it. The thought that my thoughts can influence how others see our school is very powerful.

It’s so easy, at the end of a long, hard day, to air frustrations online; however, this can send a negative message to students, other staff, and the community. When I think about how I want others to view our school, I realize that I want them to see its beauty as clearly as I do. I want the community to understand that our students are so much more than test scores to us. I want everyone to know that our students matter and that’s how we operate.

One of my new goals for the year is not to paint this picture, but to use what happens everyday here at CCHS to tell this story.

 

Leave a Reply

