Welcome to 2015

image

This life was never ours….We were only ever borrowing it.

It’s that time of the year again. Everyone is talking about new beginnings, redefining themselves, bucket list items, starting over. I have never been one to make resolutions; I try to focus on goals (maybe this is because I don’t really think there’s anything I need to resolve about myself). Anyway, for this new year, I am starting off with goals that combine my work and things I enjoy doing. In no specific order, here’s how I’ll be goaling it up…

image (1)

Remember, these are just goals. I am a slow reader, but I love to read none the less. I enjoy sharing titles I’m reading with my students and colleagues, as well as, participating in online book clubs. Four books a month is a lot for me, but one of those four will definitely be an audio book from my Audible account, so there’s that. And don’t shake your head, audio books do count. A second book of the month will be the pick for the online book club that I am a part of, which leaves me with two books of my own choosing each month. As a part of this goal, I am also going to be sure to keep up better with my Good Reads account to document everything I’m reading. I’ll probably blog about the books as well!

image (2)

Baking is not only something I enjoy, it calms me down, centers me and allows me to let go of stress in my life. I have to admit that in 2014 I fell off the baking train and really only made treats for special occasions. I want to work on expanding my cookie recipes and perfect my pie crusts. I also want to work on tarts and try to create a really awesome pretzel crust. And while I’m at it, I’ll probably work on breads. I’d love to master a really awesome cinnamon bun recipe that involves pistachios.

image (3)

This is a BIGGIE! I don’t even want to admit how much time I spend on Pinterest. I have tons of boards, both for fun and for the library which I use to curate things I see on the Web. The problem is this, I get so excited about collecting things and put so much time into pinning them that I rarely actually put the pins to use. I want to work on trying diy projects I find and using the recipes I pin as a starting off point for delicious things. I’d also like to work on decorating our house a little more and maybe even decorating myself some too.

So that’s it. I have three main goals for myself this year. None of which include forcing myself to do things that I don’t want to or that I’m not comfortable with. Setting goals should be more about exploring our passions and less about fixing what we think is wrong with us. Happy new year to you and may your 2015 be filled with the things you love!

Leave a Reply

