Goosechase and Digital Learning Day

I’ve been so busy lately, and with being out 3 days for NCTIES 15, I had no time to make huge plans for digital learning day. Our school is 1:1 Chromebooks, so I feel like every day is digital learning day! This year, I wanted to target my colleagues and have them create, explore, share and connect by using digital tools.

During a session at NCTIES 15, I was introduced to an awesome scavenger hunt type app called Goosechase. This app allows users to create a goosechase [aka challenge] and its corresponding missions. Your goosechase has a unique name and can be password protected so only people with the password can participate. The missions are unique to you and your purpose for the goosechase, but each mission will be completed through snapping a picture of the “proof.” The picture is then uploaded to the mission and the mission is marked complete.

Goosechase is free; however, you can only have up to 10 teams participating in a challenge at one time. To work around this when using Goosechase with my colleagues for Digital Learning Day, I pre-selected their teams based on their departments, putting smaller departments together into one team. When using this app with students, you can put them in teams or create multiple Goosechases; maybe one for each class.

After introducing this activity to my colleages, they were off! They completely embraced the missions and had fun posting their pictures. Since this Goosechase focused on Digital Learning Day, all of the mission I created focused on creating, playing, discovering and connecting via digital tools and resources. My missions were:Β GooseChaseMissions

When you create each mission, you’re able to assign it however many points you wish. I gave most missions 10 points, but did give more points to a few missions that would require a little more time/effort to complete. I also love that you are able to give bonus points to any picture that you choose. I awarded a few bonus points along the way when a team uploaded a super creative or unique picture.

Take a look at the mission photos here.

I’ve had many teachers come up to me and thank me for creating this Goosechase. Not only did they have fun participating in the challenge, they immediately saw the application for their own classrooms. Three teams tied for 1st place, so now, the hard part for me is to choose the winner!

Leave a Reply

