Let me confess…

https://i0.wp.com/www.flickeringmyth.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/kindergarten-cop.jpg

Don’t shriek too loudly, but yes, I am a librarian who does not enjoy writing book reviews. I know, it’s terrible.

Here’s the thing…I LOVE talking about books I’m currently reading or books I’ve read in the past. This is one of my favorite parts of my daily interactions with students. But, when it comes to writing book reviews, I just can’t force myself to do it.

I read book reviews everyday and most of them are beautifully articulated accounts of how the writer reaches his/her audience through an amazing character or situation. When it comes to trying to recreate this after I’ve finished a book, it’s an epic fail. I’m just not good at writing reviews. I never feel like the review I write is up to the same standard as the ones I read. Maybe I set the bar too high for myself. Or maybe I just want to bypass all of the things you can read on the back of the book’s cover and just talk to you about how much I loved a character or how much the words on the page made me cry, over and over again.

IMG_1324I’ve been reading a lot this summer and I feel somewhat guilty that I’m not reviewing each book once I’m done with it. I keep up with my GoodReads account and I always rate the books I’ve read, but when prompted to enter a review, I generally decline. But yesterday, something strange happened.

I was scrolling through Instagram and went to the Nerdette Podcast account. These ladies review all of the books they read, but the reviews are so much different than what you’re probably used to seeing. They’re one or two sentences, simple blurbs that honestly tell you what the reader thinks and feels about the book. Immediately, I thought, “I can do this!”

And I did it. I wrote a quick, simple review of a book I just finished and posted the review on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook. It was fast, easy and manageable. I can do it from my phone. I don’t have to plan a long, drawn out essay or analysis of the book. I can simply tell you I loved it or don’t waste your time.

IMG_1325

So, from now on, I will be reviewing what I read, but doing it my own way; the way that works for me and makes me feel good about what I’m sharing. I encourage everyone else to try out these tiny book reviews to showcase and share what you’re reading. Give them a hashtag so they’re easy for you to curate and don’t be afraid to put yourself out there!

Arnold Image: http://www.flickeringmyth.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/kindergarten-cop.jpg

Leave a Reply

