#NCSLMA15, you were amazing!

My head is still reeling from the NCSLMA 2015 Conference. Between presenting and running the Organization’s social media campaign, I left Winston Salem exhausted – but in the best possible way. Mollee and I planned and prepared months ahead of time to ensure that we would be able to build excitement and encourage all of the conference attendees to become more active participants through social media. Our goal was to give members easy and accessible ways to make connections, be heard and learn and grow from their PLNs. After seeing all of the tweets, I feel confident that we accomplished our goal. Now the big question is, can we get members to keep up the same momentum and enthusiasm now that NCSLMA15 is over!?!

During the conference, Mollee and I tweeted out challenge questions that attendees could answer for a chance to win prizes. Since we were so caught up in following the hashtag, choosing winners and using social media to document the conference, Mollee and I rarely had the opportunity to reflect on our own experiences over the 2 days.

So now, I want to answer some of the questions that attendees were given on Thursday and Friday.

  • What is the top title on your TBR list?
    I have multiple books that I can’t wait to read, but I’m most excited to tear into Carry On. Rainbow Rowell is my favorite.
  • What has inspired you the most so far?
    “There is no textbook for modern library service. We are writing it together.” -Joyce Valenza
    Everything she says is inspirational, but this statement really stuck with me. It’s so easy for us to compare ourselves to others who have more, do more, say more, get more recognition – BUT we just can’t do that, it’s not healthy. All of our libraries are different. We serve different kids. We live in different areas. We have different funding. Our philosophies of service are not all created equal. The one thing we do have in common, is that we all do what we do because of our kids.
  •  Share one memorable quote from #NCSLMA15.
    Where do I begin!?! Everything could be a memorable quote. One of my favorites came from Sedley Abercrombie, NCSLMA President-Elect. She tweeted, “I seriously have the BEST. JOB. EVER!”
    I agree 100%.
  • What is your favorite resource or tool from any session you’ve go to so far?
    I think it’s impossible for me to narrow this down to 1 single resource. I can say that I am most excited about all of the coding resources that I came across in sessions that I attended.
  • What is one thing you’re ready to go back to your school and work on?
    • Expand the library’s makerspace
    • Begin a coding club
    • Build a program that teachers digital leadership

The enthusiasm that everyone had at the conference has re-energized me and made me very passionate about finding ways to give all of our members a voice. I can only hope that the conference attendees will now be filled with the confidence to make connections, be heard and become a more participatory part of their own PLNs.

 

Leave a Reply

